:: of course ::

An age-old tale: If you want to stay pretty, don’t let no big ol’ company buy your sorry fanbased grass-root ass.

As exemplified with shocking clarity here:

old:
apr08_twop_old
(click)

new:
apr04_twop_neu
(click)

Oh, Television Without Pity how I loved thee. And then, one day, Bravo TV which is owned by NBC which is owned by General Electrics decided it a wise move to smother a witty and ironic place with a buckload of money. And the founders, probably amazed just how big their little recap-site has gotten, decided to accept said money (as I would have probably done) and buy themselves airy lofts and health insurance. Not a particularly staggering narrative. But I got attached and my heart got broken a tinsy little bit.

As I said in my indignant 50-year-old-Burgtheater-suscription-
holder-appalled-by-those-filthy-“new“-ways-of-directing forum post: The site's strenght was written content. I'm not sure if this is a fact that needs to be camouflaged that heavily.

logo

ABOUT

EX- lehrveranstaltungsbegleitender blog :: medien und informatik in den geschichtswissenschaften :: WS 2006/07 :: uni wien

currently reading

Emile Zola
Doktor Pascal

tv junkie? (pop)cultural studies?

Suche

 

Status

Online seit 6404 Tagen
Zuletzt aktualisiert: 29. Sep, 11:52

my credits

:: tanja :: vienna

RSS Box

Credits


art-ish
m4 aufgaben
misc
politics
selbstreferentielles
technics
TV-ish
warenästhetik
Profil
Abmelden
Weblog abonnieren